Back to All Events

2018 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust

  • Ritz Carlton Hotel Washington D.C. 1150 22nd Street Northwest Washington, DC, 20037 United States (map)

2018 NMQF Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust

Bridging the Equity Gap Across the Lifespan to Achieve Sustainable Healthy Communities


Event Details

April 16–17, 2018

The Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Washington, DC


1150 22nd Street, NW, Washington, DC 20037

Summit Agenda

Leadership Awards Reception and Dinner Program

2018 NMQF Leadership Summit Flyer

Summit Content

Day 1: April 16

Welcome and Remarks Watch Video

Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

David O. Barbe, MD, MHA

Martin Hamlette, JD, MHA

Elena V. Rios, MD, MSPH

Ho Luong Tran, MD, MPH

Policy & Advocacy Opening Plenary Session. Building a Sustainable Healthy Community Watch Video

Moderator: Nicolette Louissaint, PhD


Carla Boutin-Foster, MD: “Sustaining Healthy Communities: The State University of New York (SUNY) Downstate Approach” View Presentation

Jay Bhatt, DO, MPH, MPA

William H. Carson, MD

Policy & Advocacy Plenary. Equity in Clinical Trials and Research: Important for Good Health Now and in the Future Watch Video

Moderator: Donney John, PharmD


Luther T. Clark, MD

Lola Fashoyin-Aje, MD, MPH: “Racial/Ethnic Representation in Cancer Clinical Trials” View Presentation

Ravyn Miller, MBA, MDiv

Nicole Richie, PhD

Policy & Advocacy Session 1. Ending Cancer; Ending Cancer Disparities Watch Video

Moderator: Shyrea Thompson, JD


Janet Franklin, MD, MPH

Evelyn Gonzalez, MA

Karen Winkfield, MD, PhD

Lisa Simms Booth

Andrea Ferris, MBA

CME Session 1. Beating African Americans’ Number One Killer: Heart Disease

Moderator: Chinonso E. Akano, PharmD.


Keith C. Ferdinand, MD: “Framing the Conversation: Needs of the African American Community” View Presentation

Mary McGowan, MHRM: “Women & Heart Disease: Impact & Resources for Minority Women” View Presentation

Elena V. Rios, MD, MSPH: “Cardiovascular Disease & Hispanics Policy Recommendations” View Presentation

Janet S. Wright, MD: “The Role of Million Hearts 2022” View Presentation

Booker T. Washington Award Luncheon Watch Video

Master of Ceremonies: Lt. Col. Torie Comeaux Plowden, MD, MPH


Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

David O. Barbe, MD, MHA: presentation View Presentation

Outstanding Corporate Citizen Award: William H. Carson, MD

2018 Booker T. Washington Award: Jerome M. Adams, MD, MPH

Policy & Advocacy Session 2. Engaging Patients with Diabetes Facing Many Challenges and Costs Watch Video

Moderator: Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA


Guillermo Amezcua, MBA: presentation View Presentation

Marie T. Brown, MD: “Medication Adherence Truth and Consequences” View Presentation

Marilyn A. Fraser, MD

Karin Gillespie, MBA: presentation View Presentation

Rita R. Kalyani, MD, MHS: “Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes—2018” View Presentation

Bruce T. Taylor

CME Session 2. Neuroscience Disorders

Moderator: Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD


Ian N. Kremer

Nadia Richardson, PhD

Ivana Rubino, PhD

Policy & Advocacy Session 3. Sickle Cell Disease Watch Video

Moderator: LaTasha Lee, PhD


Ken Bridges, MD: “Sickle Cell Disease: The Challenge of Healthcare Disparity” View Presentation

James G. Taylor, VI, MD

Caleb Gilchrist, PhD

CME Session 3. Autoimmune Disorders

Moderator: Chinonso E. Akano, PharmD.


Anca D. Askanase, MD: “Lupus—The Clinical Perspective” View Presentation and “Rheumatoid Arthritis: A Clinical Perspective” View Presentation

Walter Royal, III, MD: “Neurosarcoidosis” View Presentation

Mitzi Joi Williams, MD: “Multiple Sclerosis in the African-American Population” View Presentation

Policy & Advocacy Closing Plenary Session. Vaccines and Equity in Disease Prevention Watch Video

Moderator: LaTasha Seliby Perkins, MD


Angela Shen, ScD, MPH: “Vaccines and Equity in Disease Prevention” View Presentation

Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH: “Health Literacy: Community-Based Strategies” View Presentation

Corey Robertson, MD: “Influenza Vaccination: An Underutilized Tool in Combating Health Disparity” View Presentation

Leonard Friedland, MD

“Resilience in Community” Dinner and Town Hall Watch Video

Welcome: Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Moderator: Loren Robinson, MD


The Honorable Stacey Plaskett: presentation View Presentation

Josh Sharfstein, MD

Amanda Quinton, CBCP, AMBCI: presentation View Presentation

Joyce Larkin

C. Reynold Verret

Day 2: April 17

Spring Health Braintrust: “Health Equity from the Womb to Mature Adulthood” Watch Video

Welcome and Remarks:

Brandon Webb

The Honorable Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Health Braintrust Panel 1. When Mommies Die: A Maternal Mortality Panel Watch Video

Moderator: Dr. Nicole E. Williams


Shanna Cox

Dr. Eugene Declercq

Stephanie Glover

Ebony Marcelle

Health Braintrust Panel 2. Our Kids, Our Future: Raising Healthy Children and Adolescents Watch Video

Moderator: Dr. Kameron Van Patterson


Dr. Winifred Booker

Jenne Johns

Dr. Ankoor Shah

Dr. Doris Browne

Nicole Harrington

Health Braintrust Congressional Awards Luncheon and Town Hall Watch Video

Awards Ceremony

Welcome: Brandon Webb

Award Presentations: The Honorable Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Chairwoman’s Congressional Leadership Award: Delegate Stacey Plaskett

Outstanding Corporate Leadership Award: Ashli Palmer

Chairwoman’s Congressional Staff Leadership Award: Caren Street

Town Hall: Sex, Drugs and Violence: Reducing Risky Health Behaviors in Young Adult Years

Moderator: David J. Johns


Dr. Nadia Richardson

Anthony Smith

Charley John, PharmD

Dr. Ulysses Burley

Health Braintrust Panel 3. For Grown Folk: A Discussion on the Health of Mature Adults Watch Video

Moderator: Shyrea Thompson


Dr. Kisha Davis

Dr. Kimberley Perkins-Davis

Prentice Stovall, Jr.

Dr. Jean Bonhomme

2018 Leadership Awards Dinner Watch Video

Master of Ceremonies: Mr. John Brockington

Invocation: Alan Ryan


Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

The Honorable Robin L. Kelly, PhD

2018 Leadership Awards

40 Under 40 Minority Leaders in Health

Remarks: Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr. Kenneth Frazier

Dr. Charles Richard Drew Award

Presenters: Brandon Garrett and Brandon Webb

Recipient: Congresswoman Maxine Waters

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presenter: The Honorable Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Recipient: Congressman John Lewis

2018 Summit Award Winners

View Presentations, Videos, and More from Past Summits