Back to All Events

2019 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust

  • Ritz Carlton Hotel Washington D.C. 1150 22nd Street Northwest Washington, DC, 20037 United States (map)

2019 NMQF Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust

2019 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust Flyer

16 years ago, the National Minority Quality Forum established the Annual Summit on Health Disparities. This annual summit aims to assist health care providers, professionals, administrators, researchers, policy makers, community and faith-based organizations in delivering quality care to diverse populations.  With nearly 1000 attendees annually, the Summit has educated thousands of health leaders.


Event Details

April 8–9, 2019

Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Washington, DC


1150 22nd Street, NW, Washington, DC 20037

For more information on the 2019 Summit please e-mail:

Brandon Garrett

Summit Content

Day 1: April 8

Welcome and Remarks Watch Video

Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Barbara L. McAneny, MD

Elena V. Rios, MD, MSPH, FACP

Opening Plenary Session. Impact of the Social Determinants of Health in Building a Sustainable, Healthy Community Watch Video

Moderator: Nadia Richardson, PhD


Hon. Donna M. Christensen, MD: "Impact of the Social Determinants of Health in Building a Sustainable Healthy Community" View Presentation

Gloria Wilder, MD

Deborah Arrindell MD, MPH, JD

Susan Rogers, MD

Celeste A. James

Derrick Johnson, JD

Plenary Session. Precision Medicine, All of Us Watch Video

Moderator: Latrice Landry, PhD: "The Precision Medicine Initiative" View Presentation


Justin Hentges, MPP: "An Introduction to the All of Us Research Program" View Presentation

Adolph Falcon, MPP

Millicent Gorham, PhD, MBA, FAAN

Gerren Wilson, PharmD

Concurrent Sessions 1. I'll Always Love My MOMMA Watch Video

Moderator: Mia Keeys, MA


Lisa Asare, MPH

Joia Crear-Perry, MD, FACOG: "Root Causes of Black Maternal Health Inequities: Improving Access to Perinatal Care: Confronting Disparities & Inequities in Maternal-Infant Health" View Presentation

Mary-Ann Etiebet, MD, MBA

Elizabeth Dawes Gay, MPH

Concurrent Sessions 1. Tackling the HIV/STD Problem in Minority Communities

Moderator: LaTasha Seliby Perkins, MD


Ya’ir Aizeman

Gregorio Millett

Booker T. Washington Award Luncheon Watch Video

Mistress of Ceremonies: Jennifer Fisher Clay, JD

2019 Booker T. Washington Leadership Award: Regina M. Benjamin, MD


Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Hon. Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Barbara L. McAneny, MD

Brandon Garrett

Laura Lee Hall, PhD

2019 Excellence in Community Health Award:

Centene Corporation, accepted by Joyce Larkin & Carl Garrett

Sanofi, accepted by Angie Bricco

2019 Patient Advocate of Year Award: Janet McUlskey

Concurrent Sessions 2. Diversity & Inclusion in Immunizations Watch Video

Moderator: Alazar Ayele


Corey Robertson, MD, MPH, FACP: "The Impact of Influenza Disease: It's More Serious than You Might Think" View Presentation

Laura Lee Hall, PhD: "DRIVE: Demonstrating Rising Influenza Vaccine Equity Demonstration Project" View Presentation

Liang Richard Cui, MD: "Champions on the Front Lines: A Medical Assistant–Focused Quality Improvement Project to Increase Influenza Vaccination Rates in an Urban, Academic Practice" View Presentation

Roslyn H. Foster, MD: "Influenza Vaccination: Quality Improvement in Practice 2018" View Presentation

Stacy Zulueta, PharmD, BCACP: "Community Pharmacy: Improving Quality with Complementary Access Points for Adult Vaccinations" View Presentation

Concurrent Sessions 2. Rare Blood Disease & Impacts on Minority Communities

Moderator: Tom Wallace, MPH


Kenneth R. Bridges, MD

Ahmed Daak, MD, MSc, PhD

Julie Kanter, MD

Concurrent Sessions 3. The Cancer Continuum of Care and Racial Ethnic Minorities Watch Video

Moderator: Jovonni Spinner, MPH, CHES


Captain Richardae Araojo, PharmD, MS

Claire Saxton, MBA

Andrea Ferris, MBA

Patricia Doykos, PhD

Lori Wilson, MD, FACS

Concurrent Sessions 3. Neuro Psychiatric Symptoms/Alzheimer's Dementia

Moderator: Courtney Lang, JD


Parikshit Deshmukh, MD: "Clinical Solutions for Addressing Neuro Psychiatry Patients" View Presentation

Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD

William C. Hallett, PharmD, MBA, CGP, BCGP, C-MTM: "Neuro Psychiatric Symptoms/Alzheimer's Dementia: A Clinical Pharmacist's Perspective" View Presentation

Sue Peschin, MHS: "The Importance of the Diversity & Inclusion across the Healthcare Continuum: Neuropsychiatric Symptoms/Alzheimer's Dementia" View Presentation

Closing Plenary Session. A Conversation with the Members of Congress Watch Video

Moderator: Mia Keeys, MA


Hon. Bobby Scott

Hon. Donna M. Christensen, MD

Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee

Hon. Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Dinner and Town Hall. The Importance of Diversity & Inclusion in the Health Care Workforce Watch Video

Moderator: Alden Landry, MD


Vernell DeWitty, PhD, MBA, RN

Donney John, PharmD

Norma Poll-Hunter, PhD

Derek J. Robinson, MD, MBA, FACEP, CHCQM

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, FAAP, FACP, FTOS

Day 2: April 9

Welcome and Remarks Watch Video

Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Hon. Robin L. Kelly, PhD

Niva Lubin-Johnson, MD

Health Braintrust Panel 1. The Drug Pricing Conundrum & Minority Communities Watch Video

Moderator: Loren Robinson, MD, MSPH


Courtney Christian, MPA

Robert Popovian

Britt Weinstock, PhD, MA

Health Braintrust Panel 2. Using Diversity and Inclusion to Create Innovative Medical Therapies Watch Video

Moderator: Crystal Riley, PharmD, MHA, MBA


Jim Traficant, MBA

Ha Tran, MD, MS, FAAP

Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

CK Andrade, PhD

Murray Abramson, MD: "Biogen's Commitment to Addressing Health Care Disparities" View Presentation

Health Braintrust Congressional Awards Luncheon and Town Hall Watch Video


Brandon Webb

Brandon Garrett

Derek J. Robinson, MD, MBA, FACEP, CHCQM

Regina M. Benjamin, MD


Outstanding Leader Award: Ashley Baker Hayes

Chairwoman’s Congressional Staff Leadership Award: Yul Edwards

Chairwoman’s Member Award: Hon. Raul Ruiz, MD

Outstanding Organization Leadership Award: Xavier University of Louisiana, accepted by C. Reynold Verret and Sonia Perez

Physician President's Roundtable

Moderator: Mia Keeys, MA


Barbara L. McAneny, MD

Niva Lubin-Johnson, MD

Elena V. Rios, MD, MSPH

Creating Solutions to Advance Diversity & Inclusion across the Healthcare Continuum Watch Video

Moderator: Malika Fair, MD, MPH, FACEP


Alden Landry, MD

Liang Richard Cui, MD

Donney John, PharmD

Cleo A. Samuel, PhD

Leadership Awards Reception and Dinner Watch Video


Brandon Garrett

Brandon Webb

Master of Ceremonies: Don Calloway, JD

Invocation: Alan Ryan


Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

Hon. Robin L. Kelly, PhD

2019 Leadership Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Hon. Joe Biden

Bernard J. Tyson

40 under 40 Minority Leaders in Health

View Presentations, Videos, and More from Past Summits